Skip to content

Thought I’d take the day off…

03.01.2008

But I failed. I’m posting before bed. I had a wonderful day of getting not much accomplished – which was a much needed break after the whirlwind that was February.

I have this box of clock parts which I bought off ebay because I think gears and cogs are beautiful. I bought them a billion years ago and they have been living in a plastic box. When I open the box the smell of cold metal assaults my nose and I really like it. I wonder what that’s about…

_MG_1955.JPG

Anyhow, I have yet to figure out what in the world to do with my clock-bits and I have been thinking about it a lot during the last few days. Today I thought maybe a mobile? Or maybe I could make some sort of book with cogs placed in cutouts? What would that be about anyway? These objects strike my fancy but also leave me totally baffled. I have schlepped them through 3 moves. I keep holding on to them. I am attached to them. But why?

Project Suggestions? (I welcome suggestions of both the serious and seriously crazy foolish kind.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    03.02.2008 2:33 am

    I have no helpful suggestions, but those are wonderful bits! I have a box in storage full of bits of stuff I can’t think of a use for but don’t want to throw away…how big are they? Some of the smaller-looking pieces would make interesting brooches.

  2. Lu permalink*
    03.02.2008 7:40 am

    They are kinda brooch size, but they are dumbbell weight…In fact it’s their weight that has been really getting in the way.

  3. 03.04.2008 1:08 pm

    I like the mobile idea, _but_ I just bought some casting resin and “we”(you) could put them into the resin. It’s how you make paper weights. It is a pretty toxic project, but it would be awesome. Maybe we could do it on your porch or in the middle of a field out here.

    Here is a picture of a bug wasp in resin:

  4. Lu permalink*
    03.04.2008 2:58 pm

    oooooo i like it. and if there is some sort of project accident we could become super cool crafty mutants. let’s try to avoid that though.

Leave a Reply

