Skip to content

My first time.

03.06.2008

_MG_1965.JPG
Embroidering that is.

I just got back from the DIY Salon at the Museum of Arts and Design. In honor of the exhibition Pricked: Extreme Embroidery, I was presented with the opportunity to try my hand at a variety of embroidery projects. I settled on the mixed media embroidery table because it seemed the most “me” – my friend Reine opted for the embroidery as text table. Alison Shanik, the teacher at the mixed media embroidery table was super nice, very patient, and produced beautifully embroidered cards. I know she has an Etsy shop which I will share as soon as I find it. She very clearly walked the group through the process of embroidering a sunburst pattern on vellum. I have never, ever embroidered anything because it scares me. How silly.

Reine suggested that I use embroidery in my journal. I think that is a lovely idea. I found the process straightforward and meditative. Perhaps this weekend I will try a backstitch.

Pricked: Extreme Embroidery was very cool as well. There were amazing black wings that spanned about 8 feet with an aluminum harness. The wings looked so rich and textured that the viewer sees feathers, but it is made from found gloves. The raddest sofa I ever did see was there, not to mention mugshot cross stitch. It was very inspiring. If you are in NYC, I recommend checking it out.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 03.07.2008 11:29 am

    I’m pretty sure Alison’s site is:
    http://www.kingpopcorn.etsy.com

  2. Lu permalink*
    03.07.2008 11:37 am

    Thanks Reine – and thanks for inviting me. Hope to see you Sunday.

  3. yup, another sara permalink
    03.07.2008 6:13 pm

    I have wanted to try this, but I too have been afraid. I’m not sure why. I must overcome my fear and embroider with passion!

  4. Lu permalink*
    03.07.2008 9:38 pm

    Maybe we can take a stab at it together when we visit!

  5. 03.08.2008 9:51 am

    I love the embroidered cards – very pretty. Yet another thing I’d like to try. A friend sent me a christmas card with embroidered string with beads on it in the shape of a snowflake. It was very cool.

    It’s strange NOT doing anything – isn’t it. I give myself permission not to then feel compelled late in the day. It’s definitely become a relaxing aspect to my day when I can turn off all the extraneous thoughts in my head and focus on art.

    Any tips on how to make ink dry faster so I can stamp the pages of the books quicker? Right now, I am letting them dry for hours and doing a page at a time.

  6. Lu permalink*
    03.08.2008 12:05 pm

    In my experience the time it takes the ink to dry depends on the absorbency of the paper and how much ink you’re using. I like that stampy look so I use less ink than I think you did. I suppose you could try a hairdryer. Old fashioned patience is probably the best – an attribute I lack!

Leave a Reply

