Skip to content

An “L” to call my very own.

03.11.2008

_MG_2018.JPG

I have decided to participate in GPP Street Team’s Crusade No. 18 – Cut it Out: Make a Tool of Your Own. (I found GPP Street Team courtesy of the aforementioned iHanna blog.)

For as long as I can remember, my favorite thing to doodle was letters. My name + other name = BFF or TLF dominated my elementary and middle school doodles (puberty). My name or various song lyrics dominated my high school doodles (moody teen). In college words spoken by some other student in class that I found to be dull or annoying or dull and annoying dominated my doodles (all-knowing self-important WOMAN of the world). Grad school was a blur. Now, at work I doodle arrows or my name (slightly lost adult who has accepted that other people know stuff too).

Understandably, I decided to design an “L” stamp. So I drew some Ls. It is easy for L to be boring.; I will not let that happen to my L though! I lost the flow a little as I was coming down the middle (right before the lower left circle), but I think I am going to go with something like this. I have all the materials at hand to make a lino block, so that is the project on deck.

I love the suggestions of “add-on” stamps that GPP Street Team offered, and I have filed that idea away for future collage-y endeavors.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. David Stamm permalink
    03.11.2008 9:38 pm

    Holy heck! What a lovely “L”, Lu.

    I highly recommend to Lady Lulu’s other fans a visit to the aforementioned GPP Street Team’s Crusade No. 18. It might sound like an avant garde performance piece for electric bugle and skateboard quintet, but it is in reality a stunningly beautiful web site.

  2. 03.12.2008 12:10 pm

    I get lots of stamps made. I go to Stampworx on 29th street. Don will make you anything you bring in, but you might have to call and nag him a few times if you’re in a rush.

    http://www.stampworx2000.biz/

  3. 03.27.2008 2:49 am

    I guess I had better try an “L” of my very own as well!

    Laurie

Trackbacks

  1. Totally Awesome « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  2. GPP Street Team Crusade No. 18 « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  3. Finished. I have super-cool, homemade, flying contraption, “go-with” stamps. « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

