Skip to content

Inhale. Exhale. Release.

03.19.2008

031908 release.jpg

I created another page in my journal today. This one was inspired by my return to Yoga after two and a half years. Everytime I return to yoga (we have an on-again-off-again relationship) I experience a huge emotional release. Yes, I cry. Whatever works right? Anyway, I used the packing tape transfer technique for the swing and sunset which I placed over the heart and lungs diagram. I used rubber stamps for the text.

While I have your attention, I would like to direct you to two sites I have come across in my e-travels (the weak US dollar makes actual travel tough): Tartx and art-e-zine.

Tartx features the thoughts and mixed media art of artist Tiffani Elektra. I really like her style and her website also features great freebies and tutorials. Art-e-zine features hundreds of mixed media artwork pages, free images, and technique pages. If you like the mixed media thing, you should totally check them out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    03.19.2008 11:54 pm

    Looks like you got the hang of the packing tape transfers:) I love your last two pages!

    I had a go at solvent transfer, kind of – used teatree oil because it was the closest thing I had! The actual image transfer was faint and I wouldn’t call it entirely a success, but there were a few things I wasn’t expecting but kind of liked: the rubbing made the print on the back of the magazine cuttings I used as images come off, making a dark swirly border around the outside of the piece where my rubbing got onto the paper I was transferring to, and also the cutouts retained a lot of the original image but went nicely transparent because the printing on the back had been rubbed off.

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    03.22.2008 10:27 am

    We MUST do crafts when you come to visit! Let’s plan ahead so you can help me make something cool (because you make WAY cooler stuff that I do). AND– I tagged you, so go read my blog!

  3. Lu permalink*
    03.22.2008 10:58 am

    Crap – when I do this tag, how many blogs do I tag?

    As for crafting – let’s plan ahead. Let’s start with what materials we wanna play with…

Leave a Reply

