Skip to content

Fancy Free

03.22.2008
tags:

fancy free.JPG

I was inspired to make this collage today after a fun lunchtime adventure with my husband and the wee one. I incorporated a postcard I picked up at the restaurant we dined at and a membership brochure from Printed Matter, Inc, where we stopped to peruse some artists’ books. I also used an ad I had noticed earlier that struck my fancy, and some construction paper.

Most importantly though, I used a pen (yes, one I took from my husband’s desk) to freehand draw something…

I fear drawing. I am pretty sure I am no good at it. I am also obsessed with hot air balloons (oooo that would be a neat 30th birthday adventure) and other flying machines. Normally these two would not relate. However, I thought my celebration of a fancy free day needed a hot air balloon. Then again, I was trying to do a quick exercise in casual creating, and I did not have time to go hunting and gathering and scanning and cutting and pasting. So I told myself to suck it up, embrace the exercise completely, and just draw the damn balloon as you picture it. Be fancy free.

Now I am not thrilled with my balloon, in fact I see tons wrong with it – but I am sharing it nonetheless. And I have a new doodle to practice when I am on put on hold by some customer service phone operator or at a meeting. I will work on my hot air balloon so I can add it whenever I want, all fancy free like, to something I am making.

I gave the collage to my husband to remind him of our afternoon and to remind him to also be fancy free.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 03.24.2008 9:45 am

    I love your art! This is marvelous work.

  2. 03.26.2008 4:45 pm

    I came across a cloud and thought of this collage:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=10379630

  3. 03.26.2008 4:48 pm

    I came across a cloud and thought of this collage:
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=10379630

  4. carin.c permalink
    03.31.2008 4:13 pm

    i know exactly what you mean… so hard being fancy free, funny how one has to “force” oneself to be “free”

Leave a Reply

