Skip to content

Oh the places we’ll go…

03.24.2008

EPSON005.JPG

When I was a little girl, and I would play at my grandmother’s apartment, I would pretend her home was a world of water. There were no roads or cars, just waterways and boats. I would jump from dry land to dry land or sometimes go for a long boat ride (usually up and down her long hallway). One day I told my grandmother what I was pretending, and she said to me, “There is a city just like that in Italy. It is called Venice. It has canals and boats, not streets and cars. I will take you there some day.” And when I was nine, she did. It was the greatest gift she could have given me.

I think about that trip a lot, and how certain places stoked my creative fires when I was a girl. Not a day goes by where I don’t think about how I want to give my wee-one similar experiences. I have a short list of places that I have been to, that I cannot wait to share with my daughter. Some places are far away and going there may make her feel like royalty; I want to take her Paris to show her the Louvre and Versailles. Some places are much closer and may inspire her to climb, explore, and create; I want to take her to St. Louis to see the City Museum. Some places – like the Palm Court – are in our very own city. And some places are simply a given – like Venice.

I have decided to make my daughter a book about the places I have been that I want to share with her – as a sort of manifesto to her. My grandmother said, “I will take you there some day.” And she did. I want to do the same for my wee-one. Stay tuned for more.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. kperryfilm permalink
    03.25.2008 8:29 am

    This was a really nice thing to read this morning! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your arts & crafts!

    There are some wonderful places in the world, and the little one is lucky to have folks that’ll show her around!

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    03.25.2008 11:55 am

    I love this idea! I think it will be a gift to both your daughter and to the memory of your grandmother–

Trackbacks

  1. Finished. I have super-cool, homemade, flying contraption, “go-with” stamps. « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  2. Cadmium red and some matchbooks. « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  3. Busy Bee « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  4. I am 100 Posts Old Today « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  5. A Picturebook for Wee-One « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  6. Tea for Two and Two for Tea « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  7. Thing-A-Day Registration is Open! « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

