Skip to content

I stopped sniffing glue.

04.03.2008

She grows with each new bud on the tree with tree 4x4.jpg

Spring (4×4 Digital Collage)

Yesterday, while killing time before my much anticipated trip to Ikea, I stumbled upon a copy of Somerset Digital Studio at the bookstore. I picked it up and brought it home – and thank goodness I did! Besides the fact that I was stuck in bed with a 24-hour bug and needed something to read, there were a number of inspiring articles and pieces of digital art. The most important article for me to read was, “Digital Collage” by Susan Tuttle. Tuttle’s article maps out the basics of this growing art form. I had the basic tools on hand (software, a scanner, and some inspiration) so I decided to go with it.

The elements are a photo I had taken last weekend, a scan from the dictionary, and permission free clipart I had lying about. I used Photoshop Elements, which I have no training in or books about. However, with basic software knowledge, trial and error and happy accidents I created my first ever digital collage in about 2.5 hours.

I am submitting this to 4X4 Friday. Although I was originally going to work with images of my favorite commonly known queens (Elizabeth I, Divine, and Madonna) I was much more inspired by the queen of my heart.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.03.2008 10:59 am

    This is absolutely amazing, Lady! I can’t tear myself away from it!

    I just love how the flatness of the dictionary page interacts with the 3D-ness of the photo. And the choice of text is very inspiring on such a lovely April day!

    Also, our child is ridiculously cute. 🙂

  2. 04.03.2008 11:12 am

    This is a fantastic collage! I can’t believe it is your first try! 🙂

  3. Sandy permalink
    04.03.2008 2:50 pm

    Oh my gosh, this is absolutely stunning. Love the image.

  4. 04.03.2008 3:47 pm

    It is beautiful, very royal indeed. Let’s print it on some cloth and make it a section for a quilt.

  5. kperryfilm permalink
    04.03.2008 6:18 pm

    Holy crap – she’s bluey green!
    This is really cool! I’ll have to post something soon to so I don’t feel like a creative slacker!

  6. 04.04.2008 7:34 am

    I love love love this art you’ve made! It’s so cute!!!! SOOOOO CUTE. Give me that baby.

  7. Lu permalink*
    04.04.2008 10:11 am

    Thank you for all of your comments – I am very proud of this piece! And Renee, I will not give you the baby.

  8. yup, another sara permalink
    04.04.2008 6:11 pm

    I love this!! I want a copy!

Leave a Reply

