Skip to content

Birthday Card Spoiler Alert

04.04.2008

happy bday - take flight crop.jpg

As of April 1, the birthdays just keep on coming, so I thought I would try my hand at another digital collage (this one will be used to make birthday cards).

I quickly hand wrote the “happy birthday to you” background and scanned it. I overlaid a portion of a photo I took in Rome with a filter in Photoshop Elements that I found through trial and error. The tea kettle and hat are permission free clipart (I added color to the hat) and the balloon and wings are the stamps that I carved for the GPP Street Team Crusade No. 18.  The gentleman comes from an old cabinet photo I picked up about a gazillion years ago.  I futzed with most of the elements using different tools to make adjustments to their tone or color.

I am quite happy with it, although not with my printouts.  I am using a very excellent Epson through a network and I don’t have the fancy software on my computer – I need to tell it “BEST quality you lazy machine… I said, ‘BEST!'”  I do, I yell at inanimate objects.  I can’t figure out how to  change the print quality with the software I am running on my computer.

Besides printing it myself on photo paper, I would love any tips on paper and printing methods.  I am thinking of making a number of them and this is not one for my wee-little gocco.  So how would you print these?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. yup, another sara permalink
    04.04.2008 6:10 pm

    This is awesome! You continue to amaze!

  2. 04.04.2008 11:05 pm

    This is perfect—love the background colors in combination with your stamp and image…love it! (Hint: my birthday is May 12th)

  3. 04.05.2008 1:21 pm

    hello Laura,

    playing with photoshop is fun ! I read that these are your first trials ! Looks quite good !
    I’m still waiting for my copy of digital.. I pre-ordered it, but there were some misunderstandings at Stampington, so I’m already waiting véry long..; but they should be on their way.

    I’ m very curious to read the articles , because I know my “internetteacher” Michelle Ward wrote a tutorial. I learned a lot the past months of her. Do you know you can make your own custom brushes on the computer ( for example you scan a print of one of your own carved stamps , you make a custom brush of it and then you can use it as a digital stamp, change the colors, the size,…

    You visited my site and asked how I use my stencils. In the past I always used acrylic paint and a special brush ( with a flat top) for stencilling. I also use adhesive on my stencils so you have your hands more free and the paint doesn’t sip under like it often does, especially if the stencil is very detailed and fine.

    As you could see in my house,stencils are really versatile and so easy to use.
    You should give it a try !

    Inge

  4. 04.05.2008 3:49 pm

    I love the card! The colors and kettle my favorite 🙂

Leave a Reply

