Skip to content

Athena’s Army

04.05.2008

What is it that draws crafty-types to owls? Well, I love ’em too. Last night I made me an owl stencil as my answer to GPP Street Team, Crusade No. 19 – Cut It Out: II.

First I found a cute and simple owl image among my clipart and I modified it to include “bridges” (thanks for the tips Michelle). Then I printed it directly onto inkjet friendly acetate and used an exacto-knife to cut it out! I gave it a test run on a lunch bag because it was what I had handy.

owl stencil test 1.JPG owl stencil test 2.JPG

Then, even though I wanted to be in pjs already, I ran out to American Apparel because it is open until midnight on Friday night and I am compulsive. I bought some stencil friendly clothing and popped it into the wash. Today I did this with a black t-shirt, my owl, and bleach…

Owl Bleach Stencil

I found the “how-to” in the last issue of Craft Magazine. I used a solution of 50% bleach and 50% water instead of ink to transfer the image. I am hooked.

I am already working on my next stencil. A fancy-pants monogram. Stay tuned…

19 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.05.2008 7:08 pm

    what a great idea – love the owl!

  2. 04.05.2008 10:39 pm

    Mama mia this is fantastic! Love the owl, love the stencil LOVE the shirt!!! You’re idea is GREAT!!!

  3. 04.05.2008 11:00 pm

    Laura – thanks for sharing with the team your stencil! Looks terrific on paper and the shirt. I’ve done bleach stenciling with onr of those bleach pens (for clothing). It’s so cool when it comes through in varying degrees of coral on black. Thanks for telling us how you did this….I suspect more of us will be trying it now *grin*

  4. 04.06.2008 12:17 am

    Oh my, that is so cool. Great idea to print straight onto acetate. Love the late night shopping trip, you should have gone in your pjs! One of the (sort of) advantages of living so far from anywhere, is that I can’t make random shopping trips – except on the net.

  5. 04.06.2008 2:05 am

    That is a cute owl! And the bleach technique looks interesting, I like the rusty colour it gives!

  6. 04.06.2008 5:28 am

    Wow ! This t-shirt is soooo cool ! You very own yet so “designer” !Love it !

  7. kperryfilm permalink
    04.06.2008 10:01 am

    I agree with all the other posts – the T-Shirt, the rusty color, is awesome. Well done. I’m also delighted that you just ran out and got the shirt late at night – that’s a wonderful image. The muses wait for no one!

  8. 04.06.2008 5:48 pm

    You have such a lovely blog. Way to go on your digital piece! – I love it!! Thank you for your kind comment on my blog.

    Warmly,
    Susan

  9. 04.06.2008 10:33 pm

    This is so cool! I’m inspired to try the bleach thing now!

  10. 04.07.2008 5:21 pm

    Cute owl! He makes a great stencil for paper or fabric! šŸ™‚

  11. 04.07.2008 6:49 pm

    There should be warnings whenever someone on the Street Team does something supercool. The stencil challenge is addictive enough but the T-shirt is irresistible. Thanks for the super idea — generated in your PJs no less!

  12. yup, another sara permalink
    04.08.2008 10:07 am

    I love the fact that the owl is a nerdy owl! Those are the very best kinds!

  13. 04.08.2008 11:26 am

    Beautiful, love the T-shirt

  14. 04.09.2008 6:10 pm

    Great T-shirt and I like the idea of bleaching using your own stencil… How cool is that?!!

  15. 04.19.2008 4:40 pm

    oh oh oh oh my!!!!

    I HAVE to try this!!!

  16. 04.24.2008 7:36 am

    What a cute owl! Love the bleach.

  17. 04.29.2008 5:26 pm

    I love how you took the prompt and ran with it, plus…I LOVE OWLS!

  18. 05.01.2008 9:13 pm

    omg! Thanks for sharing the tip about the shirt! I’ve kept a little stash of plain t-shirts for a couple of years, swearing that one day I would make something cool for them. This is perfect!!

Trackbacks

  1. Yachting, Navy Blazers and Monograms « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

