Skip to content

Yachting, Navy Blazers and Monograms

04.06.2008

My Monogrammed Tote

I have a total fascination with Ralph Lauren preppy, which I think may be a slightly odd obsession for a nice, zaftig, Jewish girl from New York City. With this tidbit of information about me, you should not be surprised that I love fancy monograms on everything. Accordingly, I made a fancy monogram stencil as a follow-up to my owl. I used it to monogram my new oversized tote bag.

I like that the monogram came out more edgey than preppy because as much as I want to rock riding pants and riding boots, I can’t. This bag suits me more. Before the end of the month, I may design a complementary stencil to add some additional flourish to the bag (it is pretty big).

I have a stenciled headboard on my wall and my grandmother told me I need to add a monogram – maybe it is time… I think instead I will monogram some pillowcases – less commitment. Oooo I simply love monograms. Better keep an eye on your stuff or I might just slap my monogram on that too!

Michelle Ward, what have you done to me, I am a stencil-happy exacto-knife wieldin’ maniac… To check out other people’s stencil happy behavior or cultivate your own, check out GPP Street Team Crusade No. 19.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.06.2008 8:21 pm

    Laura – this is amazing!! Love the image – and HOW DID YOU GET THE GOLD SO VIBRANT?? That paint looks stunning! THanks for sharing this second stencil with the team. and the link in the post below. (It was already a friend on my myspace – great stuff to see there!)

  2. 04.06.2008 9:15 pm

    Really fabulous, Laura!! I can’t believe you cut that with a xacto knife! I think it’s better than Ralph himself!

  3. 04.07.2008 5:54 am

    How very Artsy Princess ! Beautiful ! The gold is amazing and your print is so very precise ! Great job !

  4. Lu permalink*
    04.07.2008 10:40 am

    Thanks… I have gotten some comments about the color of the ink – the picture is a bit deceiving, it’s more yellow than gold in real life, I am not sure why that happened, but I love it just the same.

  5. 04.07.2008 6:19 pm

    Great monogram, very elegant in gold! I love the little decorative scrolly things! 🙂

  6. yup, another sara permalink
    04.08.2008 10:06 am

    This is cool! I love it!

  7. 04.09.2008 2:59 am

    You did that with a stencil? Far out, that is incredible. I am very impressed! You could make amazing linen as wedding gifts for people.

  8. 04.09.2008 6:19 pm

    You cut that with a knife? That’s impressive… I love your monogram – it looks wild!

  9. 04.15.2008 3:43 pm

    Looks really great.

  10. 04.22.2008 12:29 am

    What a cool momgram and your owl is funky too.

  11. 04.24.2008 7:37 am

    That is so beautiful!

  12. 04.29.2008 5:33 pm

    That gold is amazing, how ever did you do that? You can monnagram anything of mine, as long as you use that gold!

Trackbacks

  1. Ahoy Matey! « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

