Skip to content

Back to the drawing board…

04.09.2008

You may recall I was working on my first mixed media piece and I decided to step away from it because I was unhappy with what I was doing.  Last night, as I lay awake parched and unable to breathe from whatever new bug Typhoid Mary brought home from daycare, a number of ideas for this project and other mixed media projects trickled into my head.

This morning, when I finally made it out of bed for more than five minutes, I peeled my matchbooks from my canvas.  I realized that I want to use them as part of an altered book.  Next on the matchbook project agenda is to mosey on over to the Strand to pick out the perfect home for my matchbooks.

I am a little hesitant with regard to this project.  There is so much out there in art supply land that I have never used AND there is so much I don’t know.  But as my husband reminded me yesterday –

(A) Matisse got his start painting at about age 20 which was considered old to start painting and then he moved onto collage much later and was showing his work with artists half his age who had been doing collage twice as long.

(B) Art is about play.

Sometimes I forget those sorts of lessons and I scare myself into thinking I am going to “fail.”  A fear of failing is how I wound up ignoring my desire to “make stuff” for so long.  I guess “failure” in this case would be a piece I was not proud of, especially considering the emotional weight the subject has for me.  But I am going to try and disregard any concerns of “failing” and move forward with my project.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. yup, another sara permalink
    04.09.2008 2:25 pm

    I think you are absolutely right about needing to let go of any sense that you could “fail.” One thing I love so much about you and about your work is this sense of fun that you embody and that you display in all your pieces. Perfection is boring (and it generally makes for bad art).

  2. 04.09.2008 5:28 pm

    First of all, my roomie and I had a good laugh at the Typhoid Mary part… dunno why ;-p

    Secondly, don’t be afraid to go in a new direction on a project. It happens. Consider ripping the matchbooks off as part of the history of what that pretty red canvas is going to end up as. I’m drooling just thinking about the possibilities.

    As for art supplies you’ve never used, I’m there, too. Like Golden’s Gel medium? Sure I’ve heard about it but I’ve never before seen the damn stuff so I could buy and use it. >.< And then there’s the -quality- supplies I’ll likely never get.

    If you haven’t tried them yet, I highly recommend Portfolio’s Water Soluble Oil Pastels. HOLY MOLY those things are awesome! They’re only $10 at Staples. The best art/craft thing I’ve ever bought. Ever. I’d go down and pick up a spare box if I could lol

    I probably mentioned this in a comment here before, but I’ve done the same thing with the fear of failure. I get tummy aches looking at bad art and I didn’t want to make bad art :-p But I think I’ve worked past a lot of it recently…

    I highly recommend you start a lifebook/art journal/gluebook if you don’t have one… I have a big black one from ProArt. I gesso the pages before I put down paint/pastels… my book was $10 from Fred Myer. But moleskins are really popular, so do whatever.

    Look up Suzibluetube on youtube.com. And Willowing. They are super-super inspiring… I watched all of Suzi’s videos and my art and my head hasn’t been the same since. Don’t know where to start? Try a little gluebooking. Paste down a pic from a magazine and see where it takes you.

    Okay I better shut up now, because for all I know you already know all of this :-p

  3. 04.09.2008 8:59 pm

    As someone who learned the art of just jumping in headfirst from our Lady Lulu, I can heartily concur with the above comments.

    SuziBluTube rocks. I’m a writer & musician, and even I found her videos crazy inspiring.

Trackbacks

  1. If you love it so much, why don’t you marry it? « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

