Skip to content

If you love it so much, why don’t you marry it?

04.10.2008

What goes up.jpg

It is official, I am in love with digital collage. I keep pulling out boxes of paper and doodads but I invariably abandon the glue for the scanner. Part of me feels guilty turning my back on my scissors and glue – like when I finally gave in to digital photography – but part of me feels as if I have found my creative calling. I find the process immensely fun, and what was I writing about play yesterday

This morning I sat down to work on Wednesday Stamper’s Arrow Challenge, but as you can see, there are no arrows here. That’s okay, I was still inspired to make a new 4×4 digital collage. I played a bit more with filters and I figured out how to add shadows. Who knows how my homegrown shadow technique compares to the way someone with a technical clue would do it, but I was happy with my shadows just the same. Although now on second examination the shadow under my flying lady is a bit pixelated, any suggestions on smoothing the edges?

Just in case my feelings for digital collage are just a passing infatuation, (or a way to avoid using techniques I am less comfortable learning) I am heeding the advice many of you have imparted to me, I am going to buy a notebook and start an art journal in order to practice using pigments – creative fear numero uno!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.10.2008 4:01 pm

    Oh, what program are you using? I like your digital collage, its simple and has a good layout 🙂

    I love playing with digital stuff, too. I use the GIMP but almost everything will work 🙂 I love making wallpapers and avatars the most.

    If you sign up for Dover Publisher’s weekly e-mail, you get freebie images. You can print and collage with them or just use them on the puter 🙂

    And yay for you getting a notebook thing! Do keep us updated on that! And don’t forget to get some of those pastels I was talking about *waggles finger at you* Man I’m bossy today :-p

  2. 04.10.2008 4:09 pm

    You can marry digital collage….but I just thought I eould let you know that I already married CS3…we’re very happy together. 🙂

  3. 04.11.2008 9:56 pm

    Such a cool technique – I will have to try it. I love your piece!

    Thank you so much for your lovely comment about the book.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    Warmly,
    Susan

Leave a Reply

