Skip to content

I wonder where the birdies is.

04.13.2008

Awakening.jpg

Except for some tweaking that I will tend to when I am no longer cross-eyed, I finished another collage. I am pretty happy with this one.

I also worked in my journal.
Page005.jpg
I wanted to see what would happen when I mixed glitter into:

  1. Paint – You get grainy paint because the glitter gets covered in paint. (Note to self: Duh.)
  2. Acrylic Medium – You get happy fun times. (Although the scan did not capture the happy fun times. In person the page really shimmers and blinks from the glitter catching the light.)

The photograph I used grabbed my attention the other day while I was browsing through a box of old photos at a local antique shop. I love that the family is smiling (which is hard to find in old photos). I also like that the family mirrors mine (both in the uncontrollable smiles and the composition).

I was a busy bee today, and this evening I looked at my husband and said, “I don’t know how long I can keep this pace up.” I was referring to the fact that I fill every free moment (and even not so free ones) making stuff or looking for inspiration.

For weeks now, almost every morning I wake up with ideas for projects and exercises. This morning I did not wake up with a need to paint an owl or an idea for a new collage and I panicked. I am so deeply afraid that this lady who has been embracing her creative side daily since February 1, is going to vanish into the ether for another decade, and I do not want that to happen again. Quite frankly, that last decade was rotten.

Additionally, I have this new found circle of bloggers who support each other and inspire each other, and I fear that if I stop producing and sharing for more than a weekend, I will lose that as well.

I have been gaining creative momentum for weeks and when I did not wake up inspired I recognized that I may be slowing down in the ideas department. Slowing down to a stop frightens me much more than mixing paint! I don’t want to lose the high I have been feeling and the joy I experience when I play. But I am also tired from the highs and from walking around with my head in a fog. It is not a state I am used to or even necessarily comfortable with.

In the meantime, I will keep my chin up and I will try to pace myself. I bought some embroidery floss today in hopes of spending less time clicking the background eraser tool… time to embroider paper!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.14.2008 9:34 am

    Take a break…we’ll be here when you get back! 🙂

  2. 04.15.2008 1:31 am

    Looks like you’ve been having fun in your journal ^-^

    I usually don’t wake up with ideas, but I have on occasion came up with ideas from my dreams. And I’ll go to bed at night wanting to keep creating but, hey… lights out is lights out.

Leave a Reply

