Skip to content

I seemed to have taken my chill pill.

04.14.2008

the royal we.jpg

I am feeling much better about my big monogrammed bag of crazy. Today I took time to do things I needed to do and things I wanted to do other than “make art.” I went to the grocery store and I made two new recipes for dinner. I did have a playdate with art as well.

I made my first ATC (pictured above). I decided to use some of my favorite materials: tiny scissors, plain old scissors, scallop scissors, my Lakol glue stick, school glue, water, a scan of my new favorite old photo, glossy magazine paper, fancy paper, rhinestones, American Typewriter font, and shrink plastic. I am rather pleased with it.  I have looked into what one puts on the back of an ATC and I have found that each resource says something else.  What do you put on the back of your ATCs?

Spring Has Sprung Sewn.jpg

I also sewed paper together today. I like that. You will be seeing more of that. I would love to learn more about quilting patterns and incorporate that into my art.  (So much curiosity – hey – didn’t that kill the cat.)

I made two sewn copies of Awakening. I think I will incorporate one into a larger sewn paper project about the seasons.  A paper quilt perhaps…

Who knows what creative aspirations tomorrow will bring.  This evening my daughter came down with her first fever.  We went to the pediatrician and she is going to be a-ok. She’s taking it like a little trooper.  I am a bit freaked out.  I think tomorrow I will just be happy to spend time with my finest creation of all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.15.2008 1:22 am

    Congrats on your first ATC 🙂 I had all sorts of different stuff crammed on my first ATC but yours takes it more gracefully than mine lol

    I used to have a weird fancy numbering system worked out with the backs of my ATCs. Now I do the date (stamped), by arty signature, nickname and that’s usually if. If I was inspired something I’ll write down where it was inspired from, or include credits.

    I love sewing on paper- I threw my machine out in a fit of rage and frustration one day so no more paper sewing for me with a machine. But that’s okay, I’m happy with hand stitching 🙂

  2. kperryfilm permalink
    04.15.2008 8:48 am

    It took me a while to take the time to really look at “Spring Has Sprung.” I love it. It’s so pleasant and weird. All the elements make me happy!

  3. yup, another sara permalink
    04.16.2008 8:55 am

    I LOVE both of these projects!! You are a crafting goddess!

    And big hugs to baby Crafty too– I hope she feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

