Skip to content

Click, click, click goes the keys.

04.16.2008

Yellow Rail ATC.jpg
I made another ATC today; this time I used digital collage. I was inspired by a page I stumbled across in Why Birds Sing: a Journey Through the Mystery of Birdsong. According to a list of bird sound mnemonics, the Yellow Rail’s bird call sounds like a typewriter. I found an audio clip of it’s call. You have got to listen to it – it is really incredible.

The information I included on the ATC about the Yellow Rail is from Cornell Lab of Ornithology’s All About Birds. The image of the Yellow Rail itself is by artist nineteenth century artist James DeKay.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. David Stamm permalink
    04.16.2008 9:29 pm

    This absolutely rocks! I am blown away by how polished this looks, lady!

  2. 04.16.2008 9:42 pm

    Oh, I love it! I love that it has the facts on there and the little measurement bar for the bird :-p

    My roomie and I were both amazed about the sound of the bird.

    Speaking of typewriters: Did you know that when they invented the typewriter, they placed the keys completely randomly, which is how they came up with the Qwerty layout?

Leave a Reply

