Skip to content

Inspiration On Demand!

04.17.2008

Page006.jpg

A couple days ago, I decided to introduce my daughter to Sesame Street – which it so happens, is available On Demand through our cable provider. Who knew that the animation would be so inspirational? Not me. This particular episode was brought to us by the letter “P” and the animation included a bit with a “P” made of painted post-its. The texture was amazing and the animators moved the post-its around to give the “P” motion.

I did not have the right size post-its lying about to recreate the effect, but I did have an inordinate number of unread copies of The New Yorker. I decided that that, plus a glue stick, would suffice.

About a third of the way through my bird I realized I was very unhappy with my colors, and I wished I had used dark greens, black, white, yellow, maybe a touch of red and copper. I also became unsure of the gloss. Oh well. Should I paint over it?

I was quite pleased with the texture though. The photo below captures it a bit better than the scan above.

Art Journal picture.JPG

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.17.2008 11:43 pm

    wow- this is really great! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried to make something like this and have had it come out looking like a 4 year old made it…you did such a great job!

    BTW- Elvis has left the building and should be there in 3-4 days. 🙂

  2. 04.18.2008 3:25 pm

    I loved watching Sesame Street with my children and I found it very inspiring then…I imagine I would still do so today. I love what you’ve made for your journal and I’d leave the bird the colours you’ve chosen..you chose them for a reason and the bright vibrancy jumps off the page.

    You said you’ve made your first ATC…hope you enjoyed doing them as much as I have…they are slowly becoming addictive!!

  3. yup, another sara permalink
    04.18.2008 3:44 pm

    Sesame Street rocks (and so does this piece)!

  4. 04.19.2008 6:01 am

    I love the paper mosaic idea. It works brilliantly creating feathers. How about a fish next, or your classic owl.
    thinking….
    peacock
    blue bird
    rattle snake
    iguana
    coral reef
    sea horse
    penguinos

    http://www.zebracrossing.org/

Leave a Reply

