Skip to content

We’re Baaaaaack…

04.27.2008

My goodness. What an adventure! We got home this evening and lugged wee-one, all of our luggage and craft bounty up the stairs, returned the rental car, got the wee-one to sleep, unpacked kinda, ordered Chinese food and felt our brains melt.

Oh what a fantastic time!

DAY 1

On the first day there we walked around my alma mater and then I went on a wee-shopping spree in Northampton at Essentials. I picked up various odds and ends that will make their way into my art projects or onto our bookshelves.

That evening was a quiet one. The wee-one went to sleep around 5 pm and my husband and I ate lousy Japanese delivery food in our depressing hotel room, and I created this journal page:

Page010

The materials were primarily found throughout the day. The striped hand was cut from origami paper I picked up at Essentials. The blue circle is acrylic on a college newspaper. The cream paper is the next day’s weather forecast provided by the hotel as part of turn-down service. The gold is from a complimentary hotel chocolate and the brown craft paper is from our lousy dinner. (Disclaimer – for all of the lousy and depressing mentioned here, we had a great day in spite of conditions!)

When I finished I was exhausted – it had been a day filled with schlepping about and I needed to rest up, because Day 2 of our adventure was all about The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art.

More on that later…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.28.2008 3:25 am

    Love how you incorporated your day into that piece of journaling, I long to do a trip too when I read this. Thanks for sharing!

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    04.28.2008 9:22 am

    It was so great to see you all and I am glad that you made it back to the big city! Crafts rock!

Trackbacks

  1. Day 2: A Walk, the Eric Carle Museum of Picturebook Art, and two long but lovely drives. « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium
  2. Day 3 and Day 4: Food, Friends, and Fun « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

