Skip to content

Day 3 and Day 4: Food, Friends, and Fun

04.29.2008

Goodbye Museum, Hello Worcester.

D, the wee-one and I, spent Friday afternoon at the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art and then we hopped back in the car and followed our dear friend to her and her partner’s abode. When we got there we were completely wiped-out, but happy. It’s impossible to be unhappy as a guest of Baba Reens and the egg dance because their home is filled with so much light, love, and fuzzy animals.

Yoda Potter

Zipper Fiestaware

Mary

While we were staying with our friends we spent a lot of time hanging out in pajamas, talking about the heavy stuff and the mundane, and eating the egg dance’s amazing baked goods.

However, on Saturday, after our first wonderful night’s sleep in days, we had a leisurely morning followed by an excursion to the Sturbridge Antique Shops in Sturbridge, MA. Needless to say I amassed a collection of inexpensive ephemera, toys, old photos, and books all with the intention of taking glue and scissors to them! Among my most favorite finds are remnants of a Price Is Right board game and The American Woman’s Cookbook (1942). The latter will be used in my first altered book project. Ooo I am so giddy I could plotz.

That night the egg dance and I had craft night. She gave me a small drawer that I am converting into a fortune telling shrine (still in progress) and she got to work on her fertility shrine. A few months ago she asked if I could create a fertility mojo seeking object for her and I thought she may like a shrine, but a shrine is a deeply personal item, so I created a “Complete Your Own Fertility Shrine Kit” for her (as featured on my TAD page and pictured below).

_MG_1603.JPG

Well, I am in love with what the egg dance did with her humble kit:

Sara's Completed Shrine

Pretty rad!

The following day we visited with some old friends from college and met each other’s babies, and it was quite a delightful time. Then D, the wee-one and I piled into the car and drove on home with our loot and memories in tow.

(In case you missed it Day 1 and Day 2.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 04.29.2008 9:29 pm

    What a fun time! and that shrine! Muy delicioso!

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    04.30.2008 4:53 pm

    yea! Thanks for the shout out about my shrine (and thanks for being there and finally helped me get up the courage to make it already)! I love the photos of our house!

Trackbacks

  1. pot will boil « the egg dance

Leave a Reply

