Skip to content

I Like to Give, Not Just Get!

05.05.2008

Over the past few weeks I have been making stuff for others as well as for myself. I often find it hard to make something if I don’t have a tangible reason (someone’s birthday, someone’s hostess gift). This notion is one that I am trying hard to overcome. The simple act of creating fills me with so much joy that that should be reason enough to make stuff.

That said, I have made a few items for others recently that I would like to share now that they are all in the intended recipients’ hands.

_MG_2351 _MG_2350
_MG_2353

About a month ago I made this totally rad stamp as a birthday gift for my friend Reine, who is ga-ga for typography and rubber stamps. I had a lot of fun making both the stamp and the packaging. I used a brown lunch sack and some ribbon and the stamp itself because that was what I had on hand and I am very happy with the results.

Thank You Card

Last week I made this thank you note for the egg dance and baba reens for being such awesome hosts! I used items I had picked up when we all went antiquing together. The acrylic transfer came out a little too well (the dad’s face is VERY transparent) but I had a lot of fun making the card and I knew they would appreciate it.

Free Radical Stencil

Finally, a few hours before D. and I headed off to Washington, DC this past weekend, I made this super cool stencil and bleached a tank top with it. One of the many awesome things on my birthday weekend agenda was to see our friend, Katherine (aka Free Radical) skate in a championship roller derby bout and I wanted to show my support. After the bout I gave Katherine the shirt and the stencil because she loves this font and being a roller girl.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 05.05.2008 1:01 pm

    I love my stamp!! Thank you so much. I’ll be stamping it on all my etsy packages and mu journal and maybe little L’s hands and anywhere else that seems ingenius!

  2. David Stamm permalink
    05.05.2008 9:49 pm

    The Free Radical stencil package is one of my favorite objects that you’ve designed, love!

Leave a Reply

