Skip to content

They Call Me the Book Butcher.

05.12.2008

I used to be the Bibliogeek.

Day 1d
Day 1 – Altered Book Project (fold-out page and additional elements)

Yuck, what a start to my first altered book project. I felt like I could not get anything right and that I did not have half of what I needed. I was working messy and I was distracted, but at the end of Day 1, I set the project aside with some progress made. “Go me!” for plowing ahead.

I started in the middle of the book with my second page, because that was the page I felt inspired by today.
Day 1c

The quote is from The Body Project, a book I read in college. I am working on a book about my personal battles with body image and how I hope to raise my daughter to respect her own body.

Day 1b I was very proud of my fold out page, and how I attached the third page in a manner that will maintain the tabs in the overall book. I decided to wing it and use linen tape to create a hinge on the back side of the page. I intend to cover these pages as well, which will mask the tape.

I made some additional elements for the page (top picture) including a book for my book. I am not sure what other elements I will include, but I do need to track down a copy of Pride and Prejudice to butcher.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. yup, another sara permalink
    05.13.2008 11:40 am

    Oooohhhh- I love this project (both form and concept) and I can’t wait to see the finished projects!

  2. 07.27.2008 4:24 pm

    Finding the depth and interest you’re adding to your book just AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

