Skip to content

Drawing is Hard

06.12.2008

Photo 35.jpg

I can’t draw. I mean I can technically make marks on a page, but I really hate the resulting marks.

I have been out on my balcony this evening, working on my drawings (read: doodles) of me and wee-one.  I have the hardest time trying to capture her “little girl” features.  She keeps looking more adult.

Photo 34.jpg

I really don’t want any part of that Medieval “a child is a simply a scaled down adult” aesthetic. You know the paintings… the ones where the baby Jesus is being held by Mary but he looks like a tiny man. I would welcome any tips on how to avoid making wee-one look like an  woman-baby.

I have to admit I have not had the energy necessary to create stuff.  I have been very, very, very tired and instead of making stuff I have been dreaming up projects and then watching really lousy summer television programs. What have you been up to?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 06.13.2008 9:12 am

    I know the feeling well. Me – I’m happily installed in a new job (for the summer, at least) and I’m enjoying the novelty of a regular work day vs the strange wandering that I fell into during the 2nd year of grad school.

    But I’m making the time to play my guitar and to at least write down the working titles of films I could write and research if I could get my act together. It’s almost like making things…. 🙂

  2. Megan permalink
    06.15.2008 5:35 am

    Children have different facial/bodily proportions to adults – I had a quick look for something to explain it better than I can, and this looked helpful for the face part:

    http://drawsketch.about.com/library/bl_drawing-children.htm

    I won’t try & hand out advice though, I can’t draw either…:-)

  3. yup, another sara permalink
    06.15.2008 10:04 am

    Even as a fan of religious art, I have to admit that I too hate the ‘baby Jesus looks like a mini adult’ style. I absolutely SUCK at drawing anything realistic and I have been sucked into Tell Me You Love Me on On Demand.

Leave a Reply

