Skip to content

Crusade No. 21

06.18.2008

Each day, since Michell Ward posted Crusade No. 21, and I am out walking around, I have thought to myself, “Ugh, I forgot crayon and paper AGAIN!” Well not today!

I decided I wanted to use things from the everyday world outside of my home for my wax resist paper. (I guess that is my theme as of late.) Today I did wax rubbings on:


Wax Relief Steel Floor Stuff

Some of that steel flooring stuff…

Wax Relief US Mailbox

a US Mailbox…

Wax Relief Fire Hydrant

and a fire hydrant.

I did not feel like dealing with a variety of colors while I was out so I, like Harold, chose a purple crayon.

This evening, too exhausting to think, I smeared on some paint, sprayed and wiped:


I really liked the way this one turned out. I will be sure to show y’all how this paper is put to use whenever I figure that bit out.

Photo 44.jpg

Photo 45.jpg

The US Mail turned out better than photographed (but not by much) and the fire hydrant will probably be used on an envelope or gift.

I want to thank Michelle Ward for this challenge. I love the technique and plan to use it in my altered book project.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 06.18.2008 8:18 pm

    Laura!! I am so impressed with your vision! Love that you took rubbings from your corner of the world. I’m already thinking of manhole covers I pass on my bike rides when I see that steel flooring you did. The mailbox and hydrant are clever. Using a purple crayon like Harold, hysterical! Thanks for sharing with the team!

  2. 06.18.2008 9:47 pm

    I love that steel floor!! And the mail box…you get the gold star for innovative rubbing! 🙂

  3. 06.19.2008 5:48 am

    Hi Laura,

    I agree which Julie about your innovation – so fun to see these unexpected rubbings !
    I think the mail box is my favorite !
    Love the Harold reference and inspiration too !
    Cheers,
    Kim

  4. 06.20.2008 4:27 pm

    I like them all! They’re great fun and I applaud your use of the ‘ordinary’!! You have inspired me!!

  5. 06.22.2008 8:19 pm

    This really was a fun project wasn’t it!

  6. 06.23.2008 1:04 pm

    Laura,
    This is a great post, witty, artful, creative and yet realistic. I have walked past the fire hydrant on the corner of my yard a zillion times without the slightest thought of incorporating it into my art. You are inspiring!
    jodi

  7. 06.23.2008 9:56 pm

    oh WOW. Those came out awesome! Especially the fire hydrant one which I though “meh” about until it was all painted up. Its very artsy.

    I can’t stand going to that Crusade website thing. The automatically playing music annoys me to no end >.< So I miss out on all those cool techniques.

  8. belle2create permalink
    06.24.2008 2:12 am

    I love how your resists came out so differently: the yellow vivacious and the blue one so mysterious! And thanks for pointing us in unexpected, BUT everyday-like directions,
    Hedwig

  9. 06.29.2008 12:06 am

    The rubbing from the steel floor is brilliant – I think that texture could be so useful. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

