Skip to content

Why Must Size Matter?

06.19.2008

Day 6a

I have done some more work on my current altered book page. For those of you just tuning in, my project deals with the issues girls face with regard to their body as they grow up today. This particular page addresses what I grew up thinking. My motivation for this project is my amazing one year old daughter. I want her to grow up respecting her body – something I am still trying to learn to do. For more about this project, check out these posts:

I used the wax resist technique that is part of this month’s GPP Street Team’s Crusade to add a layer of “thinner is better” on top of the existing words on the page and below the paint.

Day 6c

I love the idea of text on top of text. I think I will add another layer using a bold font printed acetate. I will place the acetate between the page and the tags.

I also added some text on the picture page. I used a white Sharpie Poster Paint Pen. (I must take a moment to thank Julie for turning my onto them – THANKS JULIE!)

Day 6b

Now, even though I am neither lonely nor wicked, I am off to peruse the contents of my pathetically empty fridge.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 06.19.2008 10:25 am

    Cheers, Book Butcher! Thinner is better in all cases except a sandwich and your wallet. (You can quote me on that.) 🙂

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    06.19.2008 7:04 pm

    I love this project so much. I think it is so brave of you to recist those old diaries and use them in this project– I too grew up with the message that thinner was better, and I know that a lot of times, in terms of myself, I still feel that way. Yuck!

  3. 06.23.2008 9:49 pm

    Whoa… where did that little handwritten entry come from? If that is something that actually happened/happens, I’ve lost even more faith in humanity.

    BUT, how awesome to teach the kid to love her body. The best way would probably take the little playdough brain of hers out to the middle of nowhere so she can’t be influenced by the ebil that is the media.

    Or train her brain to not be playdough *shrug

    BTW, sorry I haven’t been visiting lately. I’m neglectful!

Leave a Reply

