Skip to content

Just Like Camp…

06.29.2008

_MG_3358.JPG

It should come as no surprise that I really liked the arts and crafts aspect of camp. I liked spending summer afternoons sitting around a table with my peers working on a project with a beginning and an end but all sorts of freedom in between. (It was also nice to be good at something in front of said peers who just kicked my butt in softball/frisbee/soccer/weird races of various types… you get the picture.)

Today, I still enjoy sitting with a group and working on a craft project, so needless to say I was so pleased when my dear friend Katherine, who had joined us at the beach this weekend, pulled from her tote bag:

Katherine provided me with all of my materials and let me pick which pattern we would follow.  I thought this was a generous and wonderful surprise.

I am a notoriously bad seamstress, but that is okay, I had loads of fun making Sake. Also, wee-one seems to have no interest in my odd friend, which is good because my lack of sewing skills makes Sake definitely unsafe for babies.

I forgot to snap a shot of Katherine’s creature, Seymour Actually, but he is quite a snazzy colleague of Sake.  In this case, my fellow camper’s execution of the project (which did have it’s own hysteric inducing problems) lead to a more polished finished project – but that is okay because I am no longer 12 years old and getting beaten in every sport imaginable.

I *heart* arts and crafts in the summertime.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 06.30.2008 7:40 am

    Your Sake is crazy fun!

  2. Katherine Wunderink permalink
    06.30.2008 9:40 am

    It was fantastically fun (and funny) to craft with you. Sake is all sorts of rock and roll argyle goodness! Seymour Actually could never be described as polished, even though he does have pants. I think Sake and Seymour will be great friends.

  3. yup, another sara permalink
    06.30.2008 11:25 am

    I love me some sock puppets! I actually bought this book as a gift for someone else, although I was very tempted to keep it for myself!

Trackbacks

  1. All the Promise of a New Box of Crayons « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

