Skip to content

I am 100 Posts Old Today

07.17.2008

100 Post.jpg

I started this blog during February 2008, at the tail end of “Thing-a-Day 2,” in order to ensure that I continued to include creative activities in my everyday life.

I incorporated this new habit of daily creative activity at a time in my life when everything was in a state of constant upheaval. This new millennium has bestowed onto me (or perhaps me onto it) one stressful event after another. Everything came to a head in June 2006 with the passing of my grandmother – a true force in my family. She was a strong matriarch and a third parent to me.

With her passing, our family felt too small, so my husband and I decided to fill the gap by pushing up the baby-date and we welcomed our beautiful, clever, and strong daughter into our family. Needless to say, that threw our already questionable routine, further off course.

I kept wondering when I would hit my stride and find the new normal. I spent endless hours on the couch watching lousy tv, planning all sorts of amazing adventures that would never come to pass, and dreaming of creative projects that I could not muster up the motivation to do – besides who would care.

I needed a “reason” (outside of just because) to do what I wanted because I had forgotten how to play. So I answered the “Thing-a-Day” challenge and successfully spent each day making something. I became a scissors and glue monster and “making stuff” became an unstoppable force. Everything else fell to the wayside (except for childcare of course) but it felt good. Until I burnt out.

It was finally at that moment that I began the much anticipated “new normal.” I take care of myself and my loved ones. Part of taking care of myself is making things “just because” when I have the time. And I make the time – but not at the expense of my family, my bank account, and my sanity. I then write about it, because as I work with scissors, glue, toys, cardboard, shrink plastic, fabric, photographs, and whatever else I have stashed away, I think about art, craft, and life in general. I think about my daughter, my husband, my grandmother, my readers, and myself, and I want to share my thoughts that would otherwise disappear into the ether.

I would like to thank you all of you for stopping by and sometimes even responding to my thoughts and projects. Through this process I have made a number of arty and crafty friends.

Don’t forget about my giveaway. Just comment on my next post to be entered into the drawing for my toy box.

As you can see, I have given my blog a quick and simple makeover – and I plan to redesign it (instead of using a template) in the weeks to come.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07.18.2008 1:29 pm

    In case I haven’t said it lately, every time I look at your words or your work, I’m so proud to have gained you as my sister. Just a quick reminder!

  2. 07.18.2008 9:09 pm

    Congratulations on your 100th post! You should be very proud of yourself. Here’s to another 100 posts.

    Susan

  3. 07.20.2008 4:21 pm

    Happy 100th post!! New look too? Man, I have been out of it!

  4. yup, another sara permalink
    07.22.2008 8:16 am

    I love your blog and I am so happy that you started it! It is truly inspiring to read about all your crafting adventures! You rock!

Leave a Reply

