Skip to content

Pimp My Picnic Table (Part 1)

07.24.2008

For $9.99 I picked up a solid wood Ikea picnic table for wee-one. (Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of the table as is. I will try to remember to take a before when I am at the beach.)

Despite the fact that wee-one is too wee for the table, I want to paint the table this weekend. Although I have not entirely decided how to paint it, I did decide to include a butterfly stencil I made myself.

First, I picked my butterfly image:

Butterfly Stencil.JPG

Then I modified it in Photoshop. First, I cut it in half in order to ensure symmetry. Then I eliminated any “islands.” (I am cutting out the black parts and I want to make sure all the white parts in the middle are somehow connected to the outside, otherwise they will be cut out too.) Then I printed it onto acetate.

butterfly connectors.jpg

After I let the ink dry, I used a heat tool (which was given to me by my most amazing friend Reine*) to cut the stencil out.

_MG_4105.JPG

I cut the stencil out directly on my kitchen counter, because it is granite, therefore heat resistant. Be sure that if you ever use a heat tool, to have a heat resistant material underneath.

Then I packed up all of my art supplies in an extra beach bag!

_MG_4102.JPG

Now I am ready to go. I leave first thing in the morning and will hopefully have some pictures to post on Monday.

* for a really cool interview with the super-awesome Reine – check out The Organic Mechanic’s Artist Spotlight on Reine Hewitt.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 07.24.2008 11:57 pm

    Man, that’s a great image! Can’t wait to see your table šŸ™‚

  2. 07.25.2008 10:45 am

    I saw that image elsewhere and wondered what you were going to do with it. You’re going to have a lot of fun with it this weekend. Have a lovely time!

  3. 07.25.2008 8:07 pm

    Wow, you really put that tool to use! I’m excited to see the products in person.

Leave a Reply

