Skip to content

Greetings from the Beach

07.31.2008

Ferry to FI

The trip out was divine. Wee-one enjoyed the feeling of wind whipping her hair and the sight of the white water. She usally hides from the elements on our journeys to the beach, but not today!

And we brought the laptop for this jaunt so I figured I would share my picnic table progress.

First I put my heat tool to a new use – I burned wood!
Picnic Table Detail

Picnic Table Detail
Picnic Table Detail

Let me tell you – doodling with heat and metal on wood is very, very addictive, which is exceptionally dangerous on an island on which EVERYTHING is made of cedar.

Then we got to fingerpainting! I had some grand delusions of using wee-one’s handprints to make flowers. That plan was tossed aside promptly!

Finger Painting the Table

We went more traditional mess route!

Picnic Table 1 Picnic Table 2

I think it looks downright smashing!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyn permalink
    08.01.2008 6:13 am

    She is so adorable!
    And the picnic table is indeed smashing! The butterflies are pretty and the palm prints complete the table. I will probably try something like that with my lil’ sis soon!

  2. 08.01.2008 9:52 am

    I love it! I am quite impressed with Monkey’s Pollock-influenced style. It goes well with burning wood and lovely stenciled butterflies!

    I’d love to see a demonstration of the wood burning. That sounds very cool – and I really like what you’ve done with it already.

  3. yup, another sara permalink
    08.01.2008 10:37 am

    I love it! I really like the contrast between the butterflies (very clear and deliberate) and the free-form handiwork of the little one! Very cool!

  4. 08.01.2008 1:21 pm

    I Love it too! I love how you made somthing so generic, totally personal!

Trackbacks

  1. You’ve Got Letters « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

