Skip to content

Crazy Public Art at Lever House

08.18.2008

Whenever I meet my father for lunch, I walk past Lever House. Lever House, a recently renovated office building on Park Avenue houses a public exhibition space in it’s lobby and courtyard. Whoever acts as their curator does not shy away from works that can really smack you upside the head.

While I was pregnant and up until recently, I would walk past Damien Hirst’s Virgin Mother.

As I waddled past during my last trimester, I found myself queasy looking at this cross-section. But whatever I thought of it, one thing was for sure, I was impressed by it’s imposing presence.

Then, to my surprise, the Virgin Mother was gone. In her place was a gigantic wind-up Hello Kitty statue by Tom Sachs. Joining her are various “weeping” character fountains. When I returned, I brought my camera.

Hello Kittty

Hello Kitty

Kitty Detail

Weeping Kitty

I love them and I am disturbed by them all at the same time. In response I whipped up a postcard to send friends and loved ones…
Hello Kitty Manip.jpg

Maybe before my next lunch with Dad, I will sit in the plaza and fill some of these out and pop ’em in the mail.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 08.19.2008 12:33 am

    What a cool place to be on your route!

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    08.19.2008 12:26 pm

    Wow– that first piece is both intriguing and disturbing– two things that I think often describe great art.

Leave a Reply

