Skip to content

Have I Found My Calling? (Jewelry Class Part 1)

08.25.2008
tags: ,

For most of my adult life I have stared in wonderment at those friends of mine with a distinct calling. My friend C knew from a young age she wanted to delivery babies and she became a midwife. My father as a tyke knew he wanted to be an engineer. He became just that. I have quite a few people close to me with a strong calling and when they heed to it, they are truly happy.

I also have loved ones and friends who at least know what they want to do and are trying to get there.

I, on the other hand, have had countless jobs that were not quite right. I have worked with career counselors to figure out what I should do. I have licenses and degrees. The problem I face is that I cast aside my job dreams because other people told me in a variety of ways that I could not be that when I grew up. Generally, I was always told, “It’s too hard to make a living at that.” I suppose that was not an outright “you can’t” but when that sort of negative comment was combined with the inherit insecurity of my nerdy, angry, teenage girl self, it amounted to a “not you Laura – YOU can’t.” Unfortunately, I listened. So here I am, 30 years old, very happy, comfortable, but not quite fulfilled.

So sue me, I am shooting for the stars – I have been on a multi-year quest for self-fulfillment and with each day that I make something with my hands, I feel a bit closer to my goal.

Last February, I walked into a jewelry supply store and bought some findings, chains, and a magnifying glass charm, and I made this:

_MG_1486.JPG

I then made a few more pieces using shrink plastic, chains, and findings. I loved the work and the product, but without any training or soldering my fabulous bling was falling apart. I decided I would take a jewelry making class to learn how to make jewelry that would stay together. So I put my jewelry to the side for the time being. I really missed it.

Then today I had my first jewelry class!

I came home and exclaimed to my husband (albeit quietly so as to not disturb wee-one’s slumber), “I think I have found my f**king calling!”

I spent an over an hour cutting out and filing this copper star.
A Star is Born

I have a lot more filing to do. I can’t wait! I have a mountain of ideas and I find the basics of metalworking to be very exciting.

Tomorrow I will write more about the class itself and my project ideas but right now I need to catch some z’s. As always, thanks for stopping by.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 08.26.2008 6:36 am

    How wonderful ! Hey, when you hear a voice that loud, you better not ignore it ! How great to have found a clear new path to take…congratulations !
    Kim

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    08.26.2008 7:51 am

    I am so excited for you! I am also excited for me, because when you become a famous jewelry maker I feel certain that you will make many great pieces for me!

  3. 08.26.2008 10:19 am

    What exciting news! It is a great feeling indeed… I wish you many more days like today!

  4. Jessica permalink
    08.26.2008 12:05 pm

    Awesome! I love that piece! I’m excited for you!

  5. Teneil permalink
    11.10.2008 2:08 am

    Hi there

    I was hunting online for magnify glass jewellery and came across yours, it’s wonderful I loovve owls aswell so nice mix. So can you now make me one:) no seriously I really want one!

    Kindest Regards
    Teneil

Trackbacks

  1. Jewelry Class Part 2 « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

