Skip to content

Jewelry Class Part 2

08.26.2008
tags: ,

A Star is Born

If you read my last post, you will know that I am madly in love with my jewelry class. I left walking on air, my head swirling with ideas, and wondering where in my apartment I could set up shop for the rest of the week. The class is a six-hour class that introduces the students to the basics of metal working – cutting, filing, drilling, and adding textures and tones to metals.

Gaffney Barnett is our enthusiastic, talented and kind instructor. She brought us a number of her own creations to look at, as well as her sketch books and tools. After an explanation of each of the tools we had bought for class, we jumped right into cutting metal. I cut and began filing the copper star above. Cutting metal requires relaxing your hand and your arm and letting the saw do the work as you move it up and down. If you do not relax, you will break the blade. As I sawed I quickly slipped into a meditative place and I actually made my way around my star fairly quickly.

I also brought my first piece of jewelry along to show the instructor what sort of things I would like to make – and make well. She really liked the idea and said she could show me how to tighten my jump rings. I told her that right now I am going through a preppy, monogrammed, equestrian, yachtsmen phase. (D. refers this to my patrician New England family fantasy.) I informed Gaffney that I wanted to go nautical. I shared my idea of stitching the outside of an anchor shape with red, white, and blue embroidery floss. She liked that very much.

At some point I began talking to the woman sitting next to me and we hit it off right away. She used to do wood sculpture, but is currently a flight attendant. Like me, she spends her occasional weekday walking through the city looking for adventures and inspiration. Next week we are going to make a field trip to the garment district to look at chains, findings, and beads.

I think I am going to mix up my chains and possibly find some beads to incorporate into my project. Right now, I have a free hour, I think I will go file my star some more!

One Comment leave one →
  1. yup, another sara permalink
    08.27.2008 9:58 am

    I took a metalsmithing class in college and I LOVED it. Unfortunately, I was not nearly as good at sawing as you and I broke many blades. Many.

Leave a Reply

