Skip to content

Welcome to My Bedroom

08.28.2008

_MG_4249.JPG
Don’t be dirty.

Right now I do  crafty work all over my home. Computer work is done in my bedroom where I have my computer. Then everything else is done on our dining room table in our dining/living/music/kitchen/foyer room. I have an odd little closet that holds all my art supplies that I haven’t already tucked into the corner of the dining room, a nook in the bedroom, under the bed, in D.’s work area or at my office several blocks away. This does work pretty well for me, except I find it annoying that:

  1. My computer and my glue are so far from each other. I love them equally.
  2. I can’t leave any projects in progress out without feeling that the nice, open common area is cluttered and as if Wee-One is going to eat something not intended for eating.
  3. My lighting is all overhead once the sun goes down, therefore I am constantly working in my own shadow. (Literally.)

If it had to stay that way, I would suck it up. However, I have decided to move my work area to my bedroom. My bedroom:

  1. has a big window with a northern exposure, a skylight, and a variety of lighting options;
  2. houses my computer and most of my books;
  3. in never home to an unattended wee-one;
  4. is already my favorite room in the house.

So I have been taking time to measure and think.

The Renaissance that is taking place in our house means lots of money being spent on creative endeavors and art education. In turn, that means a tightening of our proverbial belts; so I can’t just buy fancy schmancy furniture on a whim (my previous M.O.). But I think I came up with something clever, clever, clever, which involves raiding the family storage unit for gorgeous mid-century modern storage and then a trip to Ikea for a basic work table.

So while you are having date-night or girl’s-night or trashy-tv-night or old-movies-night on Friday night, I will be in a storage room, climbing over who knows what, with a tape measure in hand.

If you have any inspiring work place ideas or pictures, please send them my way. I will keep you posted.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    08.28.2008 8:01 pm

    Old movies night? Sounds like a plan! I will definitely have to dive into something gothic and black and white with a crackling soundtrack while you are rummaging on Friday night!

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    08.29.2008 10:00 am

    The trip to the storage area sounds way more fun than a movie night (in my opinion).

  3. 08.29.2008 12:11 pm

    The raiding of the storage unit sounds great – even better than gal/tv night! Good luck!

  4. 08.31.2008 12:35 pm

    I had my “studio corner” in my bedroom too, it was nice but messy to look at. If I do it again I will make sure I hang something to close of that part of the room from the bed area… 🙂

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

