Skip to content

Blogging About the Bling

09.08.2008
tags: ,

Today was the second session of my jewelry class, and as I rolled into the studio today I was totally manic from the crazy evening I had had prior to my arrival.  But after a few deep breathes and swinging a type of hammer brillantly called a “dead-blow hammer” I felt relaxed and began work on my project.

I decided to leave my anchor design for another time.  After two weeks of thinking about it, I was tired of the idea.  I am cutting this “L” out of brass instead (smaller though – much smaller):

FA254-L.jpg

This is from an alphabet designed by Lewis F. Day circa 1900.  I will be adding a bail at the top that is a  tube of metal for which I can pass the chain through. I did not want to use a jump ring passed through a hole.  I thought it would interfere with the gorgie lines of Day’s “L” too much.

Gaffney, our vibrant and thoughtful instructor, taught us how to create holes and how to add different textures to our pieces.  She also demonstrated how to make some simple tools of our own and she reinforced the idea of “using what you got.”  I appreciate how much emphasis Gaffney puts on learning about tools and reminds us to use what we have at home.  I get swept up in buying supplies for a newly discovered craft all too easily.  I also find that impulsive tool shopping gets me into a new craft too quickly and too deeply; I ultimately feel overwhelmed by the steep learning curve I have imposed upon myself, and then I stop because I am afraid I just “can’t do it.”

I think that if I can execute this design well, that it will be a pretty and simple first piece for me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09.09.2008 9:43 am

    Wow, this project sounds awesome. Can’t wait to see it. I visited my cousin’s jewelry studio in Boston ( http://www.jojolovesyou.com) and had so much fun hammering letters into metal. Next time you’re in Boston you should drop in and check it out!

  2. yup, another sara permalink
    09.09.2008 1:59 pm

    I can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

