Skip to content

Flying “M” In Progress

09.18.2008
tags:

Flying M Pendant in Progress

I spent some time today working on one of many flight inspired designs.  (I cannot actually finish anything just yet – I am waiting on my Dremel Multipro to make all important holes.) This is the simplest design of the bunch.  When I was a kid, like many kids, I drew birds by creating a multitude of “m”s in the sky. Although this “flying m” is a tad bit more grown up than those of my childhood, it’s the same idea.

I have cut this particular “flying m” out of brass to see how the design works out in the end.  I will be placing holes for small jump rings in the center of those little ovals at the tip of each wing, which is where I will connect the chain.  I plan to use a fine and short chain so that the bird sits right below the collarbone.

I like the simplicity of the shape.  If it turns out, I will make a second one in silver.  Perhaps a third if you are interested…

One Comment leave one →
  1. David permalink
    09.19.2008 7:57 am

    Not to be creepy, but that beautiful bird shape reminds me a little of the collarbone, now that you mention it:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clavicle

    I wouldn’t be surprised if that contributes to the final effect!

Leave a Reply

