Skip to content

Oh, Elusive Table – I Have Found You.

09.18.2008
tags:

Wednesday has become “food day” for me.  It is the day I grocery shop and try a new recipe if I feel so inclined (this week – Nacho Pizza).  What that also means is that it is rarely craft day.

I did, however, make a trip to one of my favorite stores, Olde Good Things, in order to find a suitable worktable for my mini-studio.  This multi-level, jam packed store sells amazing architectural artifacts and antiques.  A person could get lost as they wind themselves between marble bathtubs and ten-foot high mantels, all the while staring straight up into a sea of giant chandeliers from every electrified era.  When there, I usually spend time on the lower levels looking at skeleton keys and door handles.  A few years ago I procured the original doorplate from room number 1671 at the Plaza Hotel from Olde Good Things.

Today I bought a table!  The table.  It is perfect.  Well it would be if it were a bit higher, but who wants perfect anyhow?!

Alas! It is too heavy to just carry home, so it is still at Olde Good Things, with a sold sticker proudly stuck to one corner.

It reminds me of an old sewing table.  The top is 25″ x 24″ and has a butcher block quality about it.  The base is wrought iron and wraps around the sides and the back, leaving me to scoot right up under it.

I bargained and got the clerk to take ten percent off. (I think having a well-behaved and beautiful toddler sitting on my hip earned me some extra bargaining chips.) This left me with just a wee bit more in my budget to spend on my space.  I hope that D. and I can figure out how to get it home ourselves rather than having it delivered. If the shop delivers it, I will be left with about $5 in my budget.  As soon as you say “Walk-up,” they say, “That will be one-million dollars please.”

In anticipation of my rapidly diminished budget, I made myself an attractive inspiration board and project board with materials I had stashed away at home.  I wanted an inspiration board and a project board for my workspace for a couple months now – but my nomadic crafting style (read: no real space to do it in) left me without a real feeling as to where to hang them.  But now, I have a little place all to myself!  One thing left, I just got to get my new old table home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. yup, another sara permalink
    09.18.2008 4:09 pm

    I can’t wait to see the new table!

  2. 10.01.2008 4:47 am

    Sounds great but where in the WORLD is the pictures Lady Lulu??? 😉 Cough them up!!!

Leave a Reply

