Skip to content

Western, MA on Saturday – stART on the Street on Sunday

09.22.2008

Phew!  I just got back from a whirl-wind Massachusetts weekend.  A weekend which included a trip to the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art and a visit to stART on the Street – an awesome annual craft fair in Worcester, MA.

D. wanted to see Flight into Fantasy: The Kendra and Allan Daniel Collection of Children’s Illustration at the Eric Carle Museum.  I could not believe the breadth of the Daniel Collection – a private collection.  I have to admit that I did not get the opportunity to really admire the works because Wee-One was antsy, but I am fortunate enough to have brought home the exhibition catalog.  I also picked up A Year in Japan by Kate Williamson.

New Book

I hope to secret away some time to take a close look at this beautiful artist journal some time soon!

Then on Sunday our super-awesome hosts took us to stART on the Street, an annual block party featuring 275 artisians selling their wares, along with bands, street fair food, and kids activities.

Tote

We picked up a couple very cool items. Of course I could not avoid picking up some letterpress stationery.

Notecards from Craft Fair

These were from Paper Wren – “where vintage meets modern.”

And D. and I both fell in love with this print.

Print from Craft Fair

The vendor is Thirteenth Story. The artist, Jaye, included a zine that she makes that is only available at craft fairs. Also on my to sit down and read list!

I saw so much more but I really just need to hit the publish button and take care of Wee-One right now.  I hope you all had wonderful weekends too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10.21.2008 2:30 pm

    I’m glad stART has gotten so good–I did it once a couple years ago and it was a disaster. It was so windy everything kept blowing away and no one was there to shop. Sounds like they’ve really worked on making it a whole lot better!

  2. 12.19.2008 3:11 pm

    Hello,

    I have been wanting to go to the Eric Carle Museum for a while, and stART on the Street was great. It was my first craft fair as a vendor!

    Since there we about a million vendors it is easy to get mixed up, but I came across your mention of me in a Google search – admitting that I Google myself is probably not very cool 😉

    Anyway, I wanted to point out that the cards you posted are actually made by the very cool/crafty Rhode Island artist things are better with a parrott.

    Thanks for blogging about and supporting local artists – all the best,
    Jen

Leave a Reply

