Skip to content

Happy New Year!

09.29.2008
tags:

_MG_4534.JPG

Rosh Hashanah begins at sundown tonight and I am hosting a seder to celebrate the beginning of the Jewish New Year 5769.  The seder will be small with a few members of my family which means I am busy, busy, busy preparing for an elegant, yet casual dinner party.

I will be serving:

  • Brisket (mom’s recipe)
  • Bulgur and Black-Eyed Pea Salad with Pomegranate Dressing (My father’s family is Sephardic, and we traditionally eat black eyed peas to symbolize abundance and pomegranate to symbolize fertility.
  • Sauteed Spinach (It is a Sephardic tradition to eat leeks or chard to symbolize rising above our enemies. My Ashkenazi guests tonight would prefer a less bitter green than chard, so I am substituting spinach.)
  • Rice (You need something to cooking liquid from the brisket.)
  • Apple Pie (We traditionally eat apples and sugar or honey to symbolize a sweet year.)

I have brought out the Wedgewood and a few silver serving utensils but dinner will be buffet style and as for dress – I may wear my pjs!  That’s the way we roll at the Craftarium.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 09.29.2008 3:02 pm

    Happy New Year!

  2. 09.29.2008 9:57 pm

    Happy New Year to you! Enjoy the time with your family.

    Susan
    xo

  3. yup, another sara permalink
    10.02.2008 7:00 pm

    That sounds great! Happy new year–

Leave a Reply

