Skip to content

A Little Shop to Call My Own

10.01.2008

Ever since I made my Etsy proclamation, I have been very nervous.  That is a good sign.  It means I will actually throw myself in and do it. When I am not nervous about a future plan to put myself out into the world, it means that I am probably not going to follow through.  I know my own kind of crazy like I know the back of my hand – that is to say, very well.

In light of my decision to open a shop by Thanksgiving and my desire to succeed (by succeed I mean sell something) I have been doing some research.  One of my primary conerns is photographing my stock and Photojojo has a great little article about it that I wanted to share.  It is useful for anyone taking pictures for places like Ebay, Etsy, or Instructables.

I also have begun to brainstorm project ideas so I have something to actually sell.  These two notebooks are the first items I have made specifically for the shop.

Patchwork Notebook Front

Patchwork Notebook Inside Cover and Lined Page

The first is a patchwork notebook – the idea of which I must credit to Hannah of iHanna.  I wanted to do all sorts of extra stuff to the cover, but when I stepped away from it for a few days, I realized that I should leave this pretty notebook as is.

The second is my Clock notebook, which I love.  It is a little portable work of art.  I designed the grandfather clock silhouette and then created a stencil. I used a heavy body acrylic paint to stipple paint the design. I then used an actual clock face that I scored from Ebay years ago for the face. Finally, I painted on the hands.

Clock Notebook Front

Clock Notebook Front Detail

A real clock hand made its way into the design on the “if found” label.

Clock Notebook Inside Cover and First Page

My one concern for this piece is that I was unable to seal it with acrylic medium – the clock faces don’t take to it very well. The means it will require a more gentle owner.

And one last bit of news.  I am taking a one night workshop tonight entitled, Chains, Finding, & Beads: Jewelry Making Basics.  I believe that learning how to combine beads and chain will help me actually realize the vision I have for some of my jewelry designs.

I think you are all caught up now and it is time for me to split!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10.01.2008 2:30 pm

    Congrats on the shop! I’ve just opened one of my own on australia’s very small version of etsy, MadeIt!
    All inspired by Cindy’s month of crafting and then the influence of you wonderful ITB gals.

  2. 10.01.2008 3:48 pm

    Oh wow – big congrats on the shop – looking good!

  3. yup, another sara permalink
    10.02.2008 6:59 pm

    These are awesome!

Leave a Reply

