Skip to content

Eat, Sleep, Create

10.12.2008

_MG_4602.JPG

This week has been life changing, not to mention, absolutely exhausting.

At the beginning of the week, as I teetered on the precipice of falling in love with making jewelry, the global economic crisis directly impacted my microcosm.  My husband was laid off.

We regrouped fairly quickly after he received the news by email on Tuesday. By the end of the week he had sent out about twelve resumes and has already secured an interview.  Today he is helping out with the filming of a student short and he will be shooting his own on Wednesday.  His dream is to write and direct feature-length films, and he is working towards his dream on nights and weekends.  By day, he is a very talented web programmer.

In the meantime, I officially fell from the precipice and I am in love with jewelry-design and assembly.  I have been playing with baubles and metal all week and loving it.  Although I love all things paper-y, my Etsy shop will be dedicated to jewelry.  I need a focus, and jewelry grabbed me by the shoulders and shouted, “stop flitting about and pay attention!”

I used to be a smoker (in my head this is relevant so bear with me).  I quit on August 1, 2002 (not that I am counting).  When I woke up in the morning, I would make my way to the balcony and have a cigarette.  I would take enough smoke breaks throughout the day to smoke over a pack of cigarettes.  Now, I wake up and immediately start to design new pieces in my head.  Once Wee-One is dressed and has taken up her post to watch Sesame Street, I begin to make jewelry.  I work on jewelry whenever I get a moment.  My fingertips are raw, but that is okay.

I love smoking, I miss it daily – I really do.  I am a smoker (who does not smoke).  Fortunately, jewelry design does not cause fatal and painful illnesses.  It too keeps my hands busy – and let us be honest – it makes me feel cool.  Perhaps, it is safe to say that I am a jewelry designer (who does design jewelry).

My household is having a renaissance.  We are persuing dreams (all the while remembering we must pay the very big bills).  It is nice.  It is scary.  It is exhausting.  It is exhilerating.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10.12.2008 10:41 am

    So sorry to hear the news, Laura! Exactly what I am afraid of every day. I hope he has a good interview..you sound like you’re taking this well though..I would be a wreck.

  2. 10.15.2008 10:41 am

    Sorry to hear about your husband, but glad to hear your love for jewelry – keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

