Skip to content

On Patience and Execution

10.26.2008

Spring.jpg

I would like to take a moment to thank my dear Wee-One for giving me the gift of patience.

I have never been patient.  Never.  I have always been a big dreamer. Always.  These two personality traits do not jive. After college I lived alone, battled insomnia, and was bored out of my mind.  In the wee hours of the morning, brilliant ideas would come to me and I would take on various home decor projects intended to personalize my hand-me-down living room.  But I never had the necessary supplies and I certainly did not have a stash of random other stuff that I could use in an innovative fashion.  So I would make weak and unstable pot racks, “art-installations” that were too small to fill up the blank wall space, and books without bindings.  I would never return to them and finish them.  I would just put them in their designated places and let them mock me.

This continued for years.

Then, in 2007, I became a mom.  When I found myself responsible for a tiny little person who was without gestures or words, just cries, I quickly became more patient out of necessity.  I had a vulnerable infant whom I loved with all of my heart and she had wants and needs and I just had to guess over and over again until why Wee-One was crying.  That takes patience.

Additionally, time to myself was suddenly scarce and I realized that if I did not slow down and get things done the way I liked the first time, I felt like I had wasted a hard to come by commodity.  You know, “haste makes waste.”

When Wee-One was about 8 months old I threw myself back into my creative life after years of not making much other than dinner.  I had a backlog of projects I wanted to try.  I had the financial resources to buy supplies.  And most importantly, I had the patience to properly execute my vision. I slowed down and made the beautiful and thoughtful objects I had envisioned.  Thank heavens.  I finally feel fulfilled and I do not think my projects are mocking me.

Patience, not just a virtue, a resource.

I am writing this as a reminder to myself as I find my desire to learn new metalsmithing techniques grips me and my motivation.  And it worked.  I stopped part way through this post and began work on a new design. *Snaps for me!*

Have a wonderful Monday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10.27.2008 10:30 am

    Patience is such a virtue – I wish I was more patient each day. I live alone right now too and find myself going stir crazy in the night. I think having positive people and items around you helps – looking to move in with someone now!

  2. 10.27.2008 6:39 pm

    Firstly, beautiful digital collage at the top there – I adore it! Reminds me of my wee cousin who came by today, she is two. Just adorable!

    I don’t know how you do it, doesn’t kids take a lot of time? It sounds like she was a meditation camp – you really found creativity through her? I think that sounds like a marveloust gift for both of you. I found my creativity through meditation.

Leave a Reply

