Skip to content

Happy Holidays

12.06.2008

gloria for holiday 2008.jpg

Last December, when I was not making stuff EVER, we began to receive all of the usual holiday cards. A funny one from the in-laws, a nature photo from D.’s grandfather, and a slew of photo cards that showed off the cuteness of friends’ and family members’ kids. I started to feel guilty. I had not prepared a holiday card featuring my little 7-month old. “Bad Mommy,” was all I could think.

I tried desperately not succumb.  I rarely send holiday cards.  But I caved, and at the last minute I dashed off some CVS specials featuring my little one the day of her first haircut.

This December however, I make stuff nearly everyday, so I set aside some time to make my holiday cards.  I fiddled about in Photoshop Elements, learning new things by making mistakes, and I came up with the image above.  Tomorrow will be the printing and card assembling part.  I am not making anything too fancy though.  That is for next year!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. David Stamm permalink
    12.07.2008 8:47 am

    I remember the ‘bad mommy’ incident of 2007, and the kick-ass holiday card that ensued. I’m so proud of how far you’ve come in just one year!

    I think that’s why every culture has annual holidays. By scattering these little markers throughout the year, we have occasion to stop and reflect on the places (and people) we’ve been in years past.

  2. 12.08.2008 7:41 pm

    Awww, super-cute! As a non-religious person, I go through a cycle every year:

    1. “I love holidays! I am totally going to send out cards!”

    2. “Why is every card either full of Jesus or totally butt-ugly in it’s abstract conifer tree-ness?”

    3. “I’ll just make one with all my free time.” *snicker*

    4. “What day is it? Why are people sending cards already?”

    5. Every card is still ugly. I am totally not going to make one. “I suck. Next year I will totally plan this better.”

    Wash, rinse, repeat.

    Just you wait til I get ahold of a child. There will be holiday cards. Holiday cards for holidays you did not even *know* were holidays. 🙂

  3. 12.12.2008 7:31 pm

    Yikes! Gloria is painfully cute with her safely rounded angel wings! I’m just worried that the look in her eye implies that she *knows* she’s cute.

Leave a Reply

