Skip to content

Creative Journaling into the New Year – And A Giveaway

12.30.2008

Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve and as usual, it is a time for reflection and goal-making. One year ago, I sat around watching bad television as my life drifted by. I had too much free time. I was lethargic and lonely. I certainly did not make stuff with regularity.

Jewelry was something I admired and bought.

Art classes were out of the question – create in front of people!?

Today, my television watching habits are still horrifying, but I am an energized woman leading a creative life. I have made friends and found fulfillment through blogging, classes, and creative groups.

I have my own line of jewelry that I design and make by hand. I have an etsy shop and have had two trunk shows (both of which were successes). My business is already in the black. I have learned the importance and satisfaction of buying handmade. I am happy.

As we move into 2009 I plan to continue to develop a business plan, make jewelry and whatever else strikes my fancy.  I will get the ball rolling by using steps laid out in The Creative Entreprenuer: A DIY Visual Guidebook to Making Businesses Ideas Real.  The Creative Entreprenuer combines visual journalling with strategic planning.  As a former strategic planner who has been intimidated by visual journalling, I find this book just as useful as it’s intended users – visual journallers who have little experience with strategic planning.

As I make my way through this journal I will share selected pages with you.

Are you interested in this book?  Lucky you – I am giving away a copy.  If you would like to be entered for the drawing of a copy of The Creative Entrepreneur, leave a comment here by January 5.  Anyone can enter – don’t worry about international mail.  Mailing things is fun!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 12.30.2008 9:05 pm

    You really have had an amazingly creative year, Laura! I am so proud of your jewelry success and can’t wait to see what you’re up to for 2009!

    Enter me into the drawing please…I need all the help I can get. 🙂

  2. 12.30.2008 10:32 pm

    I’ve just found you through tag surfing and am so glad I did. I’ve enjoyed flicking through your posts – I very much like your bracelet and the decorated boxes too. I’m from Australia and so have never seen the rockertini’s before! That post made me laugh. I’m thinking of trying to sell a few of my own handmade items next year if I have the courage and conviction! I’m always very impressed by those that do.

  3. 12.31.2008 12:48 am

    Congrats on all of your accomplishments this year. This book sounds terrific and I have a few new ideas that I need help developing, I’d love to be in the draw.

  4. 12.31.2008 9:14 am

    lady lulu – I don’t WANT the book, I NEED it! Please enter me in the drawing.

  5. 01.01.2009 3:04 pm

    No need to enter me, but I wanted to let you know I had a LOT of compliments on the jewelry you designed. You and Mike need to talk about some of the stones he has that should be set!

  6. Simone permalink
    01.01.2009 6:42 pm

    This sounds so interesting. I especially like the idea of sharing pages and comparing experiences. (Well I am a book club kinda chick). In short I’d love to be in the drawing for this book. Happy New Year.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy New Year!!! « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

