Skip to content

Shopping for Gems!

01.30.2009

Stones Jan 2009.jpg

This morning involved a rather fun adventure. I went gemstone shopping in NYC’s Diamond District. Now this is nothing new for me, except, I was working with a bigger budget as I have been commissioned to do three pieces for $300. My most expensive piece to date is $60. WooHoo! I got to look at the semiprecious stones behind the counter.

I will be using the two smaller amethysts to create earrings for my client’s wife.  I will be using two stones from the multi-stone strand for a long lariat for my client’s daughter and I am still brainstorming on a bracelet for my client’s mother.

I bought the beads at my usual haunt, Beadiliferous.  You will also notice two, oval cabochon shaped stones – a citrine and a china white agate.  One of those will be used to make my very first ring.  My class at the School of Visual Arts has begun and I will be learning soldering and setting among other things. (More on my class later.)  I bought the cabochons at Dikra Gems.  Shopping there was a wonderful experience.  My salesperson, David, was very funny, patient, and helpful.  I would recommend Dikra for good beginner’s gemstone shopping experience.  The downside to shopping at Dikra is that it is a teeny space not conducive toward browsing for pleasure.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    01.30.2009 2:36 pm

    How exciting!!!

  2. 01.30.2009 4:36 pm

    Awesome!

  3. 01.31.2009 2:07 pm

    Oooooo, a new class. Glad to hear it. I’m excited to see what you make.

Leave a Reply

