Skip to content

What I Learned In Jewelry School

02.04.2009

I Soldered!

I just started a basic metalwork class at the School of Visual Arts. Although I have been making jewelry and I know how to cut, file, and finish pieces of metal, I have never soldered before. So my picture might not look like much, but it is the first thing I have ever soldered! I made a bezel for a china white agate oval. I am making a ring. My class meets Tuesday night so you will see my progress every Tuesday. The snow in New York City was so pretty today. I snapped this with my phone right before I went inside for the night.
Night Outside My Building Taken With Phone

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 02.04.2009 12:26 pm

    Love it already! 🙂

  2. 02.15.2009 9:09 am

    wow, you are really learning so much stuff right now! I just started reading your blog, and look at this!? photoshop, metal work, lino block carving, and this tree photo is incredibly cool! What the hell? If I go to the older posts, what’s going to be there? sculpture? doll-eye painting? lumberjacking?! I’m telling you, you seem to do everything well.

    I need a birthday cake in the shape of the taj mahal by next thursday. Do you happen to do birthday cakes?
    just asking.

Leave a Reply

