Skip to content

Red Tape-1 Laura-0

02.23.2009

Photo_022309_001.jpg

This morning I called the New York County Clerk’s office to find out if I needed to bring anything with me to file my DBA (Doing Business As, aka FBN – Fictitious Business Name) because as you may have guessed, my legal birth name is not “The Craftarium.”

Nice Clerk Officer: County Clerk Business Division

Laura: Hi, I would like to file a sole proprietorship DBA.  Do I need to bring anything with me to the County Clerk’s office?

NCO: Where are you operating your business?

L: Manhattan.

NCO: What type of business is it?

L: A craft business, I make and sell jewelry.

NCO: Okay.  Do you know where the courthouse is?

L: Yes.

NCO: Okay, come down to the courthouse and buy a X-201 form at the first floor coffee-shop.  Do not fill out the form and come to room 109B.  We will check to see if your name is useable and then help you fill out the form.  It will cost you $120 which will include the notary fees and two copies.  You can pay in cash or with a credit card – Visa or Mastercard only.

L: Great!  That was an X-201?

NCO: Yes, X-201.

L: And where did you say I pick up the form?

NCO: The first floor coffee shop.

L: That’s convenient.

NCO: Yes,  you can kill two birds with one stone.

L: Seriously, and I want to get a resale number.  Do you handle that?

NCO: No, but we can give you the right phone numbers.

L: Great, I will be down a little later…

So I ignored my Oscar party induced haze and got myself totally lost down by the courthouses in Manhattan.  Once I finally found my very courthousey looking courthouse I went through the metal detectors, back to the coffee shop, bought form x-201 and 2 mini-peppermint patties for a total of $2.25, took the elevator down to the basement, found room 109B and made my way to the correct counter (all of this navigation took the help of many members of the NYC civil service) and was told to write the name I want to use on a piece of scrap paper that I was handed.

Guess what, because I was not prepared to prove that although Craftarium is a made-up word, “craft” and “arium” are both in the dictionary, I was unable to file my DBA.

Tomorrow I will be heading back to the courthouse, with my household copy of Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary, to prove that “arium” is a suffix meaning, “thing or place connecting to or related with.”  However, I may have to pick an entirely different non-made name – the idea of which makes me want to stand up and give a Bronx cheer.  Please keep your fingers crossed that I can use “The Craftarium.”

In other, less annoying news, my Ikea Clock Hack was featured on Ikea Hacker today.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 02.23.2009 10:40 pm

    Oh no…what a mess!

  2. 02.24.2009 8:26 am

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. sigh. ha ha ha. sigh. I love the dictionary. Good Luck.

  3. Simone permalink
    02.24.2009 11:02 am

    That clock is awesome and sooooo cheerful. It must make you happy just to look at it. Good luck with the courthouse. I didn’t know a dba had to be a real word.

  4. 02.24.2009 7:09 pm

    Pffft, that doesn’t make sense. How silly that you can’t make up a word. That’s really silly.

    Resale numbers typically come from the department of revenue. fun stuff! Then you can buy wholesale! That’s way more fun than it should be 🙂

  5. 02.25.2009 7:30 pm

    Holy Cow! Why do they make it so difficult?!?

  6. 02.25.2009 7:31 pm

    I’m proud of you for making this happen! Rock on!

Leave a Reply

