Skip to content

The Magic of the Oscars

02.23.2009

This year’s Oscars marked the ninth year my husband has been throwing Oscar parties.  I joined the fun back in 2003.  We serve food inspired by the five best picture nominees.

_MG_5362.JPG

_MG_5361.JPG

German Potato Salad and Maque Choux

_MG_5360.JPG

We served pakoras and samosas (Slumdog Millionaire) as the appetizers, cheeseburgers (Frost/Nixon) with German potato salad (The Reader) and maque choux (Benjamin Button) as the main course, and for dessert, milk and cookies (Milk). I ate way too much.

We also served a German hefeweissen, southern whiskey, American beer, English beer, and sparkling white wine from California (to celebrate Hollywood). I had a bit of each and man does my stomach hurt this morning.

My husband made witty signage to explain the significance of each dish – a detail that tickled the guests. I would feel pretty safe saying that a fun time was had by all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 02.23.2009 12:22 pm

    What a fun twist on an Oscar party…great idea!!

  2. 02.23.2009 3:04 pm

    Is this NOT a great idea? I love this!

Leave a Reply

