Skip to content

Snowday Surprise

03.02.2009

What I did with my snowday

I had planned a very productive Monday, involving a trip to the office to finish up my taxes, to the post office to mail my TAD swap, and to the courthouse for my DBA. Mother Nature had something else planned for me. As I slept last night, Mother Nature covered Manhattan in a beautiful, although inconvenient, blanket of pretty white snow. We had a real snow storm. In fact, as I type on Monday evening, the snow is still falling lightly on the already covered cityscape. I love New York City right after a snowfall.

Wee-One has a cold and her stroller cannot compete with the winter weather, so we holed up inside and I decided to see who else on this fair island was having a snowday. My arts and crafts partner in crime, M lives in NYC and Calgary, and she happened to be snowed in on this side of the border and we had crafternoon!

She surprised me with her embroidery supplies. I had previously mentioned that I would love to learn how to embroider. The fabric arts and I have a rocky past, but I think I would like embroidery – it’s like drawing and writing in thread.

She showed me how to do running stitch, backstitch, cross stitch, split stitch (my favorite), stem stitch (my least favorite), blanket stitch, satin stitch, chain stitch, and french knot.

The picture above are my first tries at all of those stitches, and if you look in the background you can see the snow that has collected on my patio table.  All in all, I would say today has been an awesome snowday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03.03.2009 11:20 am

    This is your first try?! Hey, I’ve embroidered, and I know that this is quite an achievement. Yay for you!

Trackbacks

  1. Domestic Arts During the Radio Silence « Lady Lulu’s Braindump Hut and Craftarium

Leave a Reply

