Skip to content

Domestic Arts During the Radio Silence

03.08.2009

My blogging absence is due to some sort of killer death cold that my toddler brought home and shared with me.  She is very giving.  While I sat around feeling sorry for myself during my health related hiatus, I put my new embroidery skills to use!

Two Christmases ago, I stumbled upon some pretty rad Seven Deadly Sins plates at Saks Fifth Avenue and again at Apartment 48 here in NYC.

I liked the idea, but the black and gold did not say “eat off me” in my opinion and I am a  glutton. Also, for some reason I could not get past the notion of service for seven.  Since I found those plates I have longed to make my own seven deadly sins houseware item, but it was not until this week that inspiration struck.

Martine had taught me to embroider on a cotton cocktail napkin and I knew she had given embroidered cocktail napkins as gifts.  I thought that was a swell idea.  As we sat together embroidering, I realized what my first project would be: seven deadly sins cocktail napkins!

I grabbed a pencil and some metallic pink and sparkly white embroidery floss I had lying about for some long forgotten other project, and got started.  I am about halfway done.

7 Deadly Sins Napkins in Progress

As you can see, I went with latin as my language of choice. When I confirmed my list of sins, I found the list in latin and it really appealed to me and I knew my linguophile husband would dig the latin.  Sins never looked so cute.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 03.08.2009 8:18 pm

    You’re so clever….these are perfect!

    Feel better soon 🙂

  2. 03.10.2009 2:46 pm

    nice nice. v. nice.
    I hope you are feeling better.
    The cause of most colds is children.
    🙂
    rock on.

  3. Simone permalink
    03.11.2009 9:57 pm

    I love these, what a great idea. We really need more embroidery in Latin. Have a fantastic trip. Very jealous. If you run into my cousin Kyle, say hi.

  4. 04.03.2009 7:59 pm

    Those are lovely! I may have to steal this idea!

Leave a Reply

