Skip to content

Daily Photo & Momma Needs a New Cocktail Ring

04.19.2009
My New Ring.jpg

April 19

I wish I could say I made this ring, but alas, I do not have the plethora of skills necessary to make this piece. I can say that I bought myself this ring though.

D. and I went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art this morning.  I had hoped to see the Calder Jewelry show one more time, but it was gone.  However, the absence of the jewelry did justify my purchasing the gorgeous exhibition catalog.

After I snatched up the last Calder Jewelry catalog on the shelf of The Met Store and hugged it to my chest, I meandered into the jewelry section.  The Met has amazing and affordable jewelry inspired by their own collections and special exhibitions. When I am there, I always peruse the cases.

I fell in love with and bought myself a big enameled flower cocktail ring (pictured above). I had a million ways to justify the purchase: my birthday is approaching AND I “need” a travel friendly cocktail ring. The ring is the Met’s new Russion Imperial Anemone Ring based on the Basket of Flowers Egg (Fabergé).  Although I am not one to sport fussy pieces that one might associate with Fabergé, I was really impressed by this piece based on one Fabergé flower.

The ring, which is crafted of 22K gold overlay, is hand-enamled, and features Swarvoski crystals.  It costs $75 for non-members of the Met, and $67.50 for members.  It can be purchased online as well as in person at The Met Store.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

