Skip to content

Now I Know My ABCs

01.29.2010

IMG_0320.JPG

If you know anything about me, you will not be surprised to learn that throughout elementary and middle school, I sought refuge in the Art Room.  The art teachers liked me and were sensitive (if not a little a crazy) and, I liked them.  Also, childhood, as my husband puts it, is spent failing publicly at a lot of things, so it was nice to have a place where I could perform well, publicly.

One of my favorite things to do in art class was linoleum block cutting. In middle school I was obsessed with pop-art and op-art and tragedy comedy masks and purple and pink.  My taste level was definitely that of an 12 year old living in 1990 – which was okay – because I was an 12 year old in 1990.   Needless to say, my first block cutting prints had A LOT going on.

But now that I am in my 30s, it is a simpler time, in terms of my aesthetic anyway.  Lino block is still one of my favorite ways to spend crafty time.  A few months ago, armed with a pencil and a ruler, I drew a blocky and backwards alphabet on an 18″ square of linoleum.  I then carved it, with the intention of using it for a letterpress project – that is, a letterpress project I never pursued.

IMG_0323.JPG

So I finally inked it up and printed with it in the sixth grade fashion.

Alphabet Poster

I am really happy with how it turned out. As I was carving, I did notice that I was inconsistent and D and E do not fill up their area width ways.  That is a bit of a bummer, but I still like the way the final print turned out.

Leave a Reply

