Skip to content

TAD DAY 04

02.04.2010

I made beer bread tonight.  Beer bread is no longer new to me, but I am very proud of it.  I am a timid baker who has been conquering her fear one baked good at a time, since last autumn.  My friend Jen shared a recipe for beer bread on her blog a few months ago.  It was an approachable “quick bread,” but it wasn’t sweet, and sounded tasty. I made it and fell in love.  Since then, I have substituted flaxseed meal for the white flour and I think the bread is very tasty this way.  I wanted to feel less guilty about scarfing it down, loaf after loaf and it turns out that I actually prefer it with the flaxseed.  I also use 14 oz of a very hoppy beer (Anchor Liberty Ale has worked best in my humble opinion) as opposed to 12 oz beer plus 2 oz water.

Beer bread tastes most excellent with chili and with melted cheese, avocado, and egg.
I will probably have a couple food posts in the next few days because I have selected two new recipes to try in the next few days:

Posted via email from thing-a-day 2010

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 02.04.2010 10:23 pm

    Holy crap, I’m so going to make this.

  2. David Stamm permalink
    02.05.2010 8:53 am

    It goes so very well with your vegetarian chili, lady!

  3. 02.05.2010 10:00 am

    And with jam. Mm-mm.

Leave a Reply

